Discography


Like Desire
Ensure Dance

'' Ali On Broadway '' KOJ / Melodie (1994)

Toufic Farroukh chose jazz as his field of predilection – a colorful jazz, with oriental accents and perfect reflection of his artistic journey rooted in a double culture and open to different contemporary artistic expressions, such as dance, theater or cinema.

In his own albums, he assumes, far from theories and concepts, his various influences and creates with a beautiful tranquility, a personal and authentic universe. In “ Ali on Broadway ”, recorded in 1993, oriental colors emerge far from the artificial mixtures that many World Fusion musicians cannot always resist.

« Ali Broadway, the other mix » CDM & Harmonia Mundi (2004),

is a saved or doubly saved album, so to speak, since the analog tapes were technically almost lost, and by managing to recover them and listening to them again one by one, Toufic Farroukh rediscovers them. The obvious then becomes obvious: Ali on Broadway must be mixed new, not only in better conditions, but also with a completely different ear.

What was still incongruous at the time, the musical encounter between West and East, is now part of our sound field. The fact remains that this meeting is not self-evident. Ali 's journey between these two worlds, these two cultures, brings the imaginary closer to the lived experience, confronting them, intermingling them, blurring the tracks, playing with them...a journey precisely, that is to say: a path to travel, a path that we no longer end up traveling!

Composed, arranged & produced by Toufic Farroukh


Dance for my father
Daily life

“LITTLE SECRETS” (1998)

Different, colorful, open to crossovers, Toufic Farroukh now draws the contours of a new territory in the planet sons. The proof, "Little Secrets", a contemporary fusion that offers a jazz with very refined oriental accents.

In his compostions, Toufic Farroukh shows the same eclecticism. «  Little Secrets", published in 1998, uses both "classical" jazz instrumentation (saxophone, trombone, piano, ... etc) that the traditional instruments of the Near East (Oud, Req, Ney or Bouzouk) bring a depth and dimension that goes beyond the local touch of color.

Composed, arranged & produced by Toufic Farroukh

Toufic Farroukh: Tenor & Soprano Saxophone, Bouzouk & Percussion; Bassam Saba: Nay; Charbel Rouhana: Oud; David Venitucci: Accordion; Leandro Aconcha: Acoustic Piano; Serge Adam: Trumpet & flugelhorn; Daniel Casimir: Trombone; Jean Wellers: D. Bass & Acoustic guitar; Etienne Brachet : Drums ; Cécile Daroux: bass flute; Vincent Limousin: Vibraphone; Adel Chamss: Req; Sidney Thiam: Congas & udu.

Production: Toufic Farroukh & Radwan Hoteit


Lily's wrong
Night in Damascus

Drab Zeen  (CDM / Harmonia Mundi 2002)

Toufic Farroukh pays tribute to his friend, the artist Joseph Sakre...

“All music is more or less kneaded from various backgrounds, this evidence, Drab Zeen not only fully takes it into account but he displays it openly. The framework is not concealed, quite the contrary, the traditional, the jazz and the electronic are in a way the earth, the clay and the silt from which Drab Zeen kneads . Only it is not a question here of mixing these three horizons, of melting them one into the other, but of establishing an encounter, of provoking it.

Drab Zeen does not however articulate in the conflict, there is like a fever of the encounter with all the risks that entails, a fever sought after, desired, truly laid bare. Thus, freedom has been granted to the different soloists, so that new colors emerge from which to draw, allowing to (re) push the primary structure of each piece even further. The line between improvisation and the musical theme is held. The improvisation becomes a theme, and the theme sounds like an improvisation. And it's like all this work of shadow and light on which Drab Zeen is also built. An instrument is put forward, another accompanies it just below, note after note, follows it exactly like its shadow. An imperceptible shift then takes place: while remaining a shadow, the shadow becomes a reflection. She adorns herself with the dress of light, while remaining shadow, we insist. We know what happened to those who lost their shadow”. Ghassan Salhab

Composed, arranged & produced by Toufic Farroukh
Bassam Saba – Ney; Antoine Khalifé – violin; Nabil Khalidi & Charbel Rouhana – Oud
Georgi Kornazov-Trombone; Yasmine Hamdan – Voice; Jean Wellers – D. Bass, viola & violin; J.M. Huré – El. Guitar; Ali Alkhatib – Riq; Toufic Farroukh – Saxophones, bouzouk, Synth & percussion

Production – Radwan Hoteit & Toufic Farroukh


Destinies and desires
Scarecrow & Peacock

TOOTYA O + music / Harmonia Mundi (2007)

"Jazz from unusual angles. This is what immediately comes to mind when listening to Tootya, the new album of Toufic Farroukh. The new album of the talented Franco-Lebanese saxophonist is resolutely in line with his predecessor, the innovative DrabZeen, released in 2002.

For Toufic Farroukh, the analogy with travel is a predominant aspect of Tootya. All the pieces are linked together, but sometimes they leave in opposite directions before finding each other. The soloists who accompany him, from Magic Malik to Ibrahim Maalouf through the two singers Rima Khcheich and Jeanne Added, capture a modern sound, intertwined with powerful rhythms, transmit an inner passion and a joy tinged with nostalgia. It is perhaps the instrumental pieces that give the best idea of Tootya's atmosphere. Of particular note is 'Radio City' with its wonderful parts of G's trombone. From J. Levitt's Masure and ney, 'Ashes', and the subtle accordion played by D.Venitucci, and Toufic Farroukh's Saxes, with his thrifty phrasing, a slightly melancholic sound and his solos that enrich an alloy of oriental jazz and particularly successful dance, Farroukh reaches here a poetry similar to that which he had demonstrated on his first album, Ali On Broadway. »

Composed, Arranged & Produced by Toufic Farroukh; Co-arranged by Leandro Aconcha

Production: Toufic Farroukh, Radwan Hoteit & Chill Island


Fema Ka
Blue Tango

“Cinema Beirut” CD enja / Harmonia mundi 2011

In the career of some musicians, there are pivotal works, which are like appointments set by fate at the crossroads of art and life, aesthetic adventure and human adventure. These works, which summon as much the spirit of invention as the memory of their author, are the fruits of a slow maturation; they bear in filigree the story of an experience, and the beautiful imprint of the time it took to live it and translate it into music. Such is Cinéma Beyrouth, the fifth album of the Franco-Lebanese saxophonist and composer Toufic Farroukh, which is much more than just a collection of pieces attached to each other. It is a real intimate conversation between a man and his hometown, magnified by the use of a subtly thought out and weighed instrumentation: brass quartet, piano and drums. A conversation interspersed with moments of tenderness and brilliance, moments of abandonment and lyrical impulses, which transcribes with remarkable clarity of tone the complexity of their common history.

The relationship between Toufic Farroukh and Beirut has been woven in a rather chaotic way. In 1984, the musician left the Lebanese capital to settle in Paris; subsequently, he maintained with her one of those paradoxical liaisons, both intense and distended, that expatriates know well. In the eyes of Toufic Farroukh, Beirut thus appears as a "tragic enigma". She also plays a kind of diva who is both generous and demanding, ready to welcome her former children to better vampirize them, rough them up, or even reject them. "It's a city that can take everything from you and give you nothing.... This record also tells Beirut and its whims, its confusion, this city where we find everything, chaos, religion, war, business...  This Beirut that at the age of 10 I dreamed of as a beautiful and magical place is no longer ... »

A whole network of correspondences and hidden passages, of themes and variations, of melodies and rhythms, is thus woven within Cinema Beirut and gives it its deep organization, its internal cohesion. In the same way that sounds and vibrations can respond and harmonize in the heart of a city and forge its identity; in the same way that images, voices or perfumes can blend and echo in a man's memory, and ground his very being. Beyond genres and categories, Cinema Beirut achieves here a naked and secret truth that is as much that of its author as of its subject. Richard ROBERT

Composed, Arranged & produced by Toufic Farroukh; Co-arranged by Leandro Aconcha

Toufic FARROUKH, Saxophones; Leandro ACONCHA, Acoustic Piano; Sylvain Gontard & Nicolas Giraud, Trumpet; Daniel ZIMMERMANN, Trombone; Didier HAVET, sousaphone & Tuba; Luc ISENMANN, Drums.


Invisible cities
Cairo river

''Invisible Cities'' Hot8 / The Other Cast (2017)

Architect of the imaginary

The music of Toufic Farroukh is transported by the art of conversation. A dialogue inhabited by dreams of another world, one where women and men would be able to live in the harmony of cities finally pacified. Faced with the saxophonist-composer, the city – its secrets, its beauty, its mysteries, its history – advances as the subject of a mesmerizing exchange.

To elaborate Invisible Cities, of which Toufic Farroukh signs compositions and arrangements, the one who can be described as a nomadic poet chose to close his eyes and dream of a city for all. This is of course a city that exists only in the hearts of those who still believe in the possibility of a serene life, where everyone can find their place. The title of the disc is borrowed from the homonymous novel by Italo Calvino in which Kublai Khan, emperor of the Tartars, is told about the cities visited during his travels by Marco Polo, cities "made of desires and fears", with secrets sometimes well hidden.

Among the cities that Italo Calvino describes, there is one that reflects the one that Toufic Farroukh imagines in his new record. It is Zobeid, whose origin is based on the dream made by men from different countries. They saw a running in the middle of the night and followed her, never finding her. She was just a dream. They then decided to build a city arranged in such a way that this "woman apparition" was unable to escape. It is said that Toufic Farroukh himself dreamed of a city of beauties and secrets. He is the architect of a city mixing multiple influences, which exudes heady perfumes, such as those of its dear Mediterranean. "A city whose rumors create a great daily soundtrack," to use the words of Toufic himself.

"Angela", inspired by a theme from Romanian folklore, evokes the movement of refugees towards Germany, which has opened its borders. The composition bears a woman's first name, Angela, as does Italo Calvino who similarly names some of his imaginary cities; “Serotina”, bears the same title as “Le cerisier d'automne” and pays homage to Georges Delerue , whose film soundtracks have today been elevated to the rank of classical music, like a timeless city; “Rio de Cairo” is the synthesis, far from any confusion, of two merging cultures: Egyptian and Brazilian; "VSA" is a fraternal hymn evoking the happiness of being in Ville-sur-Auzon , in the Vaucluse, surrounded by friends...

Toufic Farroukh, the inspiration of an open repertoire, lets his saxophones sing in unison with the other instruments, without ever trying to have the last word or even give in to the temptation of solitary exercise. We can never repeat it enough: if conversation is an art, Farroukh is its fervent and humble servant at the same time. Denis Desassis

Composed, Arranged & Produced by Toufic Farroukh; Co-arranged by Leandro Aconcha

Toufic Farroukh, soprano, alto and tenor saxophones; Leandro Aconcha, piano and Fender Rhodes Didier Ithursarry, accordion; Ahmad Al Khatib, oud; Frédéric Favarel, guitar; Marc Buronfosse, double bass; Luc Isenmann, drums; Bachar Khalifé, percussion; guest: Naima Yazbek, vocals.

Production: Toufic Farroukh & Radwan Hoteit.


« 8 Original Soundtracks » (Absilon2020)

"8 Original Soundtracks" is the surest way to understand the musical universe of Toufic Farroukh dedicated to cinema. Universe easily written for a large ensemble (Al Mahd), transposable to more organic for string quartet (Terra Incognita), or with a more relaxed form (Nour),, but still as precise and dynamic (Ladder to Damascus or A Man of Honor). A concentrate of melodies (Bonne à vendre or Histoire d'un Retour), minimalist aesthetic very cut (Falafel)...

"8 Original Soundtracks" a double album that gives very particular sounds and very different tones. The technical approach, the playing, the recording itself, is particularly sensitive to listening. Toufic Farroukh, favors a clear line as a resonance to the image that everyone will be able to see a link or not. As if distanced from itself, music takes us on intoxicating paths, both autonomous and perfectly articulated between them.

The cinema, said André Bazin , “substitutes for our gaze a world which agrees with our desires”…. And to our ears?!

STORY OF A RETURN (1994) a film by Jean Claude Codsi. TERRA INCONGNITA (2002) a film by Ghassan Salhab. GOOD FOR SALE (2006) a documentary film by Dima al Joundi. AL MAHD (2006) a film by Mohamad Malas. FALAFEL (2006) a film by Michel Kammoun. A MAN OF HONOUR (2010) a film by Jean Claude Codsi. LADDER TO DAMASCUS (2013) a film by Mohamad Malas. NOUR (2017) a film by Khalil Dreyfus Zaarour.

Discographie


Like Desire
Tagada Dance

‘’Ali On Broadway ‘’ KOJ / Melodie (1994) 

Toufic Farroukh a choisi le jazz comme domaine de prédilection – un jazz coloré, aux accents orientaux et parfait reflet de son cheminement artistique ancré dans une double culture et ouvert aux différentes expressions artistiques contemporaines, comme la danse, le théâtre ou le cinéma.

Dans ses propres albums, il assume, loin des théories et des concepts, ses diverses influences et crée avec une belle tranquillité, un univers personnel et authentique. Dans “Ali on Broadway”, enregistré en 1993, des couleurs orientales surgissent loin des mélanges artificiels auxquels bien des musiciens adeptes de la World Fusion ne savent pas toujours résister.

« Ali Broadway, the other mix » CDM & Harmonia Mundi (2004),

est un album sauvé ou doublement sauvé, si l’on peut dire, puisque les bandes analogiques étaient techniquement quasi perdues, et qu’en parvenant à les récupérer et en les réécoutant une à une, Toufic Farroukh les redécouvre. L’évidence alors s’impose : Ali on Broadway doit être mixer du nouveau, non seulement dans de conditions meilleures, mais aussi avec une oreille toute autre.

Ce qui était encore à l’époque chose incongrue, la rencontre musicale entre l’Occident et l’Orient, fait aujourd’hui partie de notre champ sonore. Il n’en demeure pas moins que cette rencontre ne va pas de soi. Le voyage d’Ali entre ces deux mondes, ces deux cultures, rapproche l’imaginaire du vécu, les confrontant, les entremêlant, brouillant les pistes, jouant d’elles…un voyage précisément, c’est-à-dire : chemin à parcourir, un chemin que l’on finit plus de parcourir !

Composed, arranged & produced by Toufic Farroukh


Dance for my father
Daily life

“LITTLE SECRETS” (1998)

Différent, coloré, ouvert aux croisements, Toufic Farroukh dessine désormais les contours d’un nouveau territoire dans la planète sons. La preuve, « Little Secrets », une fusion contemporaine qui offre un jazz aux accents orientaux très raffinés.

Dans ses compostions, Toufic Farroukh fait preuve du même éclectisme. « Little Secrets », paru en 1998, fait appel aussi bien aux instrumentations « classiques » du jazz (saxophone, trombone, piano, …etc) qu’aux instruments traditionnels du Proche-Orient (Oud, Req, Ney ou Bouzouk) apportent une profondeur et une dimension qui va au-delà de la touche de couleur locale.

Composed, arranged & produced by Toufic Farroukh

Toufic Farroukh : Ténor & Soprano Saxophone, Bouzouk & Percussion ; Bassam Saba : Nay ; Charbel Rouhana : Oud ; David Venitucci : Accordion ; Leandro Aconcha : Acoustic Piano ; Serge Adam : Trumpet & flugelhorn ; Daniel Casimir : Trombone ; Jean Wellers : D. Bass & Acoustic guitar ; Etienne Brachet : Drums ; Cécile Daroux : flûte Basse  ; Vincent Limousin : Vibraphone ; Adel Chamss : Req ; Sidney Thiam : Congas & udu.

Production: Toufic Farroukh & Radwan Hoteit


Lily s’en fout
Night in Damascus

Drab Zeen  (CDM / Harmonia Mundi 2002)

Toufic Farroukh rend hommage à son ami, l’artiste Joseph Sakre

« Toute musique est plus ou moins pétrie d’horizons divers, cette évidence, Drab Zeen la prend non seulement totalement en compte mais il l’affiche ouvertement. L’ossature ne se dissimule pas, bien au contraire, le traditionnel, le jazz et l’électronique sont en quelque sorte la terre, l’argile et le limon dont se pétrit Drab Zeen. Seulement il ne s’agit pas ici de mélanger ces trois horizons, de les fondre l’un dans l’autre, mais d’établir une rencontre, de la provoquer.

Drab Zeen ne s’articule pas pour autant dans le conflit, il y a comme une fièvre de la rencontre avec tous les risques que cela comporte, une fièvre recherchée, voulue, véritable mise à nue. Ainsi, liberté a été accordée aux différents solistes, afin que jaillissent de nouvelles couleurs dans lesquelles puiser, permettant de (ré) pousser encore plus loin la structure première de chaque morceau. La ligne entre l’improvisation et le thème musical est tenue. L’improvisation se fait thème, et le thème sonne comme une improvisation. Et c’est à l’instar de tout ce travail d’ombre et de lumière sur lequel Drab Zeen est aussi bâti. Un instrument est mis en avant, un autre l’accompagne juste au-dessous, note après note, le suit exactement comme son ombre. S’opère alors un imperceptible glissement : tout en demeurant ombre, l’ombre se fait reflet. Elle se pare de l’habit de lumière, tout en demeurant ombre, insistons-nous. On sait ce qu’il est advenu de ceux qui ont perdu leur ombre ». Ghassan Salhab

Composed, arranged & produced by Toufic Farroukh
Bassam Saba – Ney ; Antoine Khalifé – violin ; Nabil Khalidi & Charbel Rouhana – Oud
Gueorgui Kornazov-Trombone ; Yasmine Hamdan – Voice ; Jean Wellers – D. Bass,viola & violin ; J.M. Huré – El. Guitar ; Ali Alkhatib – Riq ; Toufic Farroukh – Saxophones, bouzouk, Synth & percussion

Production – Radwan Hoteit & Toufic Farroukh


Destins et désirs
Scarecrow & Peacock

TOOTYA  O+ music / Harmonia Mundi (2007)

« Le jazz sous des angles insolites. Voilà ce qui vient d’emblée à l’esprit à l’écoute de Tootya, le nouvel album de Toufic Farroukh. Le nouveau disque du talentueux saxophoniste Franco-libanais s’inscrit résolument dans le prolongement de son prédécesseur, le novateur DrabZeen, sorti en 2002.

Pour Toufic Farroukh, l’analogie avec le voyage constitue un aspect prépondérant de Tootya. Tous les morceaux sont liés entre eux, mais il leur arrive de partir dans des directions opposées avant de se retrouver. Les solistes qui l’accompagnent, de Magic Malik à Ibrahim Maalouf en passant par les deux chanteuses Rima Khcheich et Jeanne Added, capturent un son moderne, entrelacée aux rythmes puissants, transmettent une passion intérieure et une joie teintée de nostalgie. Ce sont peut-être les morceaux instrumentaux qui donnent la meilleure idée de l’ambiance de Tootya. On remarque plus particulièrement ‘Radio City’ avec ses merveilleuses parties du trombone de G. De Masure et le  Ney de J. Levitt, ‘Cendres’, et le subtile accordéon joué par D.Venitucci,  et les Saxes de Toufic Farroukh, avec son phrasé économe, un son légèrement mélancolique et ses solos qui enrichissent un alliage de jazz oriental et de danse particulièrement réussi, Farroukh atteint ici une poésie similaire à celle dont il avait fait preuve sur son premier album, Ali On Broadway. »

Composed, Arranged & Produced by Toufic Farroukh ; Co-arranged by Leandro Aconcha

Production: Toufic Farroukh, Radwan Hoteit & Chill Island


Fema Ka
Blue Tango

« Cinéma Beyrouth » CD enja / Harmonia mundi 2011

Dans le parcours de certains musiciens, il existe des œuvres charnières, qui sont comme des rendez-vous fixés par le destin au carrefour de l’art et de la vie, de l’aventure esthétique et de l’aventure humaine. Ces œuvres-là, qui convoquent autant l’esprit d’invention que la mémoire de leur auteur, sont les fruits d’une lente maturation ; elles portent en filigrane le récit d’une expérience, et la belle empreinte du temps qu’il aura fallu passer pour la vivre et la traduire en musique. Tel est Cinéma Beyrouth, le cinquième album du saxophoniste et compositeur franco-libanais Toufic Farroukh, qui est bien plus qu’une simple collection de pièces accolées les unes aux autres. C’est une véritable conversation intime entre un homme et sa ville natale, magnifiée par le recours à une instrumentation subtilement pensée et pesée : quatuor à cuivres, piano et batterie. Une conversation émaillée d’instants de tendresse et d’éclats, de moments d’abandon et d’élans lyriques, qui transcrit avec une remarquable clarté de ton la complexité de leur histoire commune.

La relation entre Toufic Farroukh et Beyrouth s’est tissée de manière plutôt chaotique. En 1984, le musicien a quitté la capitale libanaise pour s’installer à Paris ; par la suite, il a entretenu avec elle l’une de ces liaisons paradoxales, à la fois intenses et distendues, que connaissent bien les expatriés. Dans le regard de Toufic Farroukh, Beyrouth apparaît ainsi sous les traits d’une « énigme tragique ». Elle campe aussi une sorte de diva à la fois généreuse et exigeante, prête à accueillir ses anciens enfants pour mieux les vampiriser, les rudoyer, voire les rejeter. « C’est une ville qui peut tout te prendre et ne rien te donner…. Ce disque raconte aussi Beyrouth et ses caprices, sa confusion, cette ville où l’on trouve tout, le chaos, la religion, la guerre, les affaires…  Ce Beyrouth qu’à l’âge de 10 ans je rêvais comme un lieu magnifique et magique n’est plus… »

Tout un réseau de correspondances et de passages dérobés, de thèmes et de variations, de mélodies et de rythmes, se tisse ainsi au sein de Cinéma Beyrouth et lui donne son organisation profonde, sa cohésion interne. De la même façon que des sons et des vibrations peuvent se répondre et s’harmoniser dans le cœur d’une ville et forger son identité ; de la même façon que des images, des voix ou des parfums peuvent se fondre et faire écho dans la mémoire d’un homme, et fonder son être même. Au-delà des genres et des catégories, Cinéma Beyrouth atteint ici une vérité nue et secrète qui est autant celle de son auteur que de son sujet. Richard ROBERT

Composed, Arranged & produced by Toufic Farroukh ; Co-arranged by Leandro Aconcha

Toufic FARROUKH, Saxophones ; Leandro ACONCHA, Acoustic Piano ; Sylvain Gontard & Nicolas Giraud, Trumpet ; Daniel ZIMMERMANN, Trombone ; Didier HAVET, sousaphone & Tuba ; Luc ISENMANN, Drums.


Villes invisibles
Rio de Cairo

‘‘Villes Invisibles’’  Hot8 / L’Autre Distribution (2017)

Architecte de l’imaginaire

La musique de Toufic Farroukh est transportée par l’art de la conversation. Un dialogue habité de rêves d’un autre monde, celui où femmes et hommes sauraient vivre dans l’harmonie de cités enfin pacifiées. Face au saxophoniste-compositeur, la ville – ses secrets, sa beauté, ses mystères, son histoire – s’avance comme le sujet d’un échange envoûtant.

Pour élaborer Villes invisibles, dont Toufic Farroukh signe compositions et arrangements, celui qu’on peut qualifier de poète nomade a choisi de fermer les yeux et de rêver une ville pour tous. C’est là bien entendu une ville qui n’existe que dans le cœur de celles et ceux qui croient encore à la possibilité d’une vie sereine, où chacun pourra trouver sa place. Le titre du disque est emprunté au roman homonyme d’Italo Calvino dans lequel Kublai Khan, empereur des Tartares, se fait raconter les villes visitées lors de ses voyages par Marco Polo, des villes « faites de désirs et de peurs », aux secrets parfois bien cachés.

Parmi les villes que décrit Italo Calvino, il en est une qui reflète celle que Toufic Farroukh imagine dans son nouveau disque. C’est Zobéïde, dont l’origine repose sur le songe que firent des hommes venus de différents pays. Ceux-ci virent une femme nue courir en pleine nuit et la suivirent, sans jamais la retrouver. Elle n’était qu’un rêve. Ils décidèrent alors de bâtir une cité agencée de telle façon que cette « femme apparition » fût dans l’impossibilité de s’en échapper. On se dit que Toufic Farroukh a lui-même rêvé une ville de beautés et de secrets. Il est l’architecte d’une cité brassant des influences multiples, qui exhale des parfums capiteux, comme ceux de sa chère Méditerranée. « Une ville dont les rumeurs créent une formidable bande-son quotidienne », pour reprendre les propos de Toufic lui-même.

« Angela », inspiré d’un thème du folklore roumain, évoque le mouvement des réfugiés vers l’Allemagne qui a ouvert ses frontières. La composition porte un prénom de femme, Angela, comme le fait Italo Calvino qui nomme pareillement certaines de ses villes imaginaires ; « Serotina », porte le même titre que « Le cerisier d’automne » et rend hommage à Georges Delerue, dont les bandes originales de films sont aujourd’hui hissées au rang de musique classique, comme une ville intemporelle ; « Rio de Cairo »est la synthèse, loin de toute confusion, de deux cultures qui fusionnent : égyptienne et brésilienne ; « V S A », est un hymne fraternel évoquant le bonheur de se retrouver à Ville-sur-Auzon, dans le Vaucluse, entouré de ses amis…

Toufic Farroukh, inspirateur d’un répertoire ouvert, laisse ses saxophones chanter à l’unisson des autres instruments, sans jamais chercher à avoir le dernier mot ni même céder à la tentation de l’exercice solitaire. On ne le répétera jamais assez : si la conversation est un art, Farroukh en est le serviteur fervent et humble à la fois. Denis Desassis

Composed, Arranged & Produced by Toufic Farroukh ; Co-arranged by Leandro Aconcha

Toufic Farroukh, saxophones soprano, alto et ténor ; Leandro Aconcha, piano et Fender Rhodes Didier Ithursarry, accordéon ; Ahmad Al Khatib, oud ; Frédéric Favarel, guitare ; Marc Buronfosse, contrebasse ; Luc Isenmann, batterie ; Bachar Khalifé, percussions ; invité : Naima Yazbek, chant .

Production : Toufic Farroukh & Radwan Hoteit.


« 8 Original Soundtracks » (Absilon2020)

« 8 Original Soundtracks », est le plus sûr moyen d’appréhender l’univers musical de Toufic Farroukh dédié au cinéma. Univers aisément écrit pour un grand ensemble (Al Mahd), transposable en plus organique pour quatuor à corde (Terra Incognita), ou avec une forme plus décontractée (Nour), mais toujours aussi précis et dynamique (Ladder to Damascus ou Un Homme d’Honneur). Un concentré des mélodies (Bonne à vendre ou Histoire d’un Retour), esthétique minimaliste très découpé (Falafel)…

« 8 Original Soundtracks » un double album qui donne des sonorités très particuliers et des tonalités très différentes. L’approche technique, le jeu, l’enregistrement même, est particulièrement sensible à l’écoute. Toufic Farroukh, privilégie une ligne claire comme une résonance à l’image que chacun pourra y voir un lien ou pas. Comme distancée avec elle-même, la musique nous entraîne dans des chemins enivrants, à la fois autonomes et parfaitement articulées entre elles.

Le cinéma, disait André Bazin, « substitue à notre regard un monde pour qui s’accorde à nos désirs » …. Et à nos oreilles ?!

HISTOIRE D’UN RETOUR (1994) un film de Jean Claude Codsi. TERRA INCONGNITA (2002) un film de Ghassan Salhab. BONNE A VENDRE (2006) un film documentaire de Dima al Joundi. AL MAHD (2006) un film de Mohamad Malas. FALAFEL (2006) un film de Michel Kammoun. UN HOMME D’HONNEUR (2010) un film de Jean Claude Codsi. LADDER TO DAMASCUS (2013) un film de Mohamad Malas. NOUR (2017) un film de Khalil Dreyfus Zaarour.