Biography


Toufic FARROUKH is a saxophonist, also composer, including film scores, producer and teacher at the DNSPB.

In 1978 began a long period of collaboration with Ziad Rahabani. Toufic participated in several tours in Europe and Lebanon, and recorded several albums composed by Ziad for the singer Fayrouz, including the album "To Assi".

In 1984, won a scholarship which finally gave him the opportunity to receive musical studies for several years at the École Normale de Musique in Paris (1985 – 1989). Settled permanently in Paris and since the click he expected did not occur, he provoked him in 1990 by choosing to abandon everything to give birth to his own project. Four years later " Ali On Broadway " ( Melody, 1994 ) which already reflects this eclecticism and this dual Eastern and Western culture, the main signature of the artist. It is essentially with his second album Little Secrets ( Auvidis, Naive 1998 ) and the third album Drab Zeen ( le Chant du Monde, Harmonia Mundi 2002 ), which sold 40,000 copies worldwide, that he broke through on the European scene and international.

In 2001, he formed his first group, T oufic Farroukh & The Absolut Orchestra, made up of 9 musicians of different nationalities, with whom he performed at prestigious festivals such as the North Sea Jazz Festival Holland, the Spirit Jazz Festival – Saint Germain des Près in Paris, the Festival de jazz sur son 31 in Toulouse, France, the Beiteddine International Festival in Lebanon, the Dubai jazz festival in Dubai.

Toufic Farroukh continues to write and produce albums: Tootya (O+ / Harmonia Mundi 2006) Cinéma Beyrouth (Enja / Harmonia Mundi 201) Villes Invisibles (Hot8/ L'autre distribution 2016) 8 Original Soundtracks. (Absilon 2020)

Film music and contemporary dance: In 1994, Toufic also began to forge links with other artistic forms. First with the cinema at the service of which he puts his talents as a composer. To his credit, several soundtracks: "Terra incognito" (2004), by Ghassan Salhab, Cannes Film Festival Selection, Arte. "Falafel" (2006)," awarded a Bayard d'or at the Namur International Francophone Film Festival in Belgium. "Bonne à Vendre" (2006), by Dima El Jundi. » A Man of Honor  (2012), by Jean Claude Codsi. A Ladder to Damascus" (2014), by Mohamad Malas. "Nour" (2016), by Khalil Zaarour.

Toufic Farroukh also writes original music for annual contemporary dance shows organized by the CRR of Paris: "Belle et Zébuth" Une création pour Trio à corde, au Théâtre des Abbesses (2010) » Deux points ... » A creation for oboe and bass clarinet and electroacoustic tape, at the Théâtre des Abbesses (2009) » Clément and Clémentine " A creation for String Quartet and Piano, at the Théâtre des Abbesses (2008)

Collaborations: Like his compositions, Toufic Farroukh confronts through his collaborations, the world of jazz with that of symphonic music. » at the border of ... » a 50-minute suite for Symphony Orchestra and Jazz Quartet. Written by Toufic Farroukh and co-arranged by Leandro Aconcha. In 2018, a premiere in Beirut with the Lebanese Philharmonic Orchestra & Toufic Farroukh Quartet and under the direction of Alexandre Piquion. In 2019 with the Orchestre Symphonique du C.R.R de Paris under the direction xavier Delette.

In 2011, Guest of the German orchestra NDR (Norddeutscher Rundfunk) Under the direction of Kristjan Jarvi, Toufic Farroukh and the ney player Bassam Saba perform the concerto for "Ney and orchestra" written by the composer Daniel Schnyder in Hamburg and in several cities in Germany.

Biographie


Toufic FARROUKH est un saxophoniste, également compositeur, notamment de musiques de films, producteur et enseignant au DNSPB.

En 1978 commence une longue période de collaboration avec Ziad Rahabani. Toufic participe à plusieurs tournées en Europe et au Liban, et enregistre plusieurs albums composés par Ziad pour la chanteuse Fayrouz, notamment l’album « To Assi ».

En 1984, décroche une bourse qui lui donne enfin l’opportunité de recevoir des études musicales pendant plusieurs années à l’École Normale de Musique de Paris (1985 – 1989). Installé définitivement à Paris et puisque le déclic qu’il attend ne se produit pas, il le provoque en 1990 en choisissant de tout abandonner pour mettre au monde son propre projet. Quatre ans plus tard « Ali On Broadway » (Mélodie,1994) qui reflète déjà cet éclectisme et cette double culture orientale et occidentale, principale signature de l’artiste. C’est essentiellement avec son deuxième album Little Secrets (Auvidis, Naive 1998) et le troisième album Drab Zeen (le Chant du Monde, Harmonia Mundi 2002),vendu à 40.000 exemplaires dans le monde, qu’il perce sur la scène Européenne et internationale.

En 2001, Il constitue son premier groupe, Toufic Farroukh & The Absolut Orchestra, composé de 9 musiciens de différentes nationalités, avec qu’il se produit dans de prestigieux festivals tels que le North Sea Jazz Festival Holland, le Festival esprit jazz – Saint Germain des Près à Paris, le Festival de jazz sur son 31 à Toulouse, France, le Festival international de Beiteddine au Liban, le  Dubaï jazz festival à Dubaï.

Toufic Farroukh continu à écrire et à produire des albums : Tootya  (O+ / Harmonia Mundi 2006) Cinéma Beyrouth (Enja / Harmonia Mundi 201) Villes Invisibles (Hot8/ L’autre distribution 2016) 8 Original Soundtracks. (Absilon 2020)

Musique de films et Danse contemporaine : Dès 1994, Toufic commence aussi à tisser des liens avec d’autres formes artistiques. D’abord avec le cinéma au service duquel il met ses talents de compositeur. A son actif, plusieurs bandes originales :  » Terra incognito  » (2004), de Ghassan Salhab, Sélection du Festival de Cannes, Arte.  » Falafel  » (2006), récompensé par un Bayard d’or lors du Festival international du film francophone de Namur, en Belgique.  » Bonne à Vendre «  (2006), de Dima El Jundi.  » Un homme d’Honneur  » (2012), de Jean Claude Codsi.  » A Ladder to Damascus «  (2014), de Mohamad Malas. » Nour «  (2016), de Khalil Zaarour.

Toufic Farroukh écrit également des musiques originales pour des spectacles annuels de danse contemporaine organisés par le CRR de Paris :  » Belle et Zébuth «  Une création pour Trio à corde, au Théâtre des Abbesses (2010) » Deux points … »  Une création pour Hautbois et clarinette basse et bande électroacoustique, au Théâtre des Abbesses (2009)  » Clément et Clémentine «  Une création pour Quatuor à Corde et Piano, au Théâtre des Abbesses (2008)

Collaborations : A l’instar de ses compositions, Toufic Farroukh confronte par ses collaborations, l’univers du jazz avec celui de la musique symphonique .  » à la frontière de … » une suite de 50 minutes pour Orchestre symphonique et Quartet jazz. Écrit par Toufic Farroukh et co-arrangé par Leandro Aconcha. En 2018, une première à Beyrouth avec l’Orchestre philharmonique du Liban & Toufic Farroukh Quartet et Sous la direction Alexandre Piquion. En 2019 avec l’ Orchestre Symphonique du C.R.R de Paris sous la Direction Xavier Delette.

 En 2011, Invité de l’orchestre allemand NDR (Norddeutscher Rundfunk) Sous la direction de Kristjan Jarvi,  Toufic Farroukh et le joueur du Ney Bassam Saba interprètent le concerto pour « Ney et orchestre » écrit par le compositeur Daniel Schnyder à Hambourg et  dans plusieurs villes en Allemagne.